"Strings for All"

I wanted to share with you a wonderful instrumental program that is new to our district this year.  It is called “Strings for All”  and is an outgrowth of the “Strings in the Afternoon” after-school strings program.  The program is offering instruction in learning how to play orchestral string instruments (violin, viola, cello, string bass) in all Kershaw County School District elementary schools.  Jim Wheeler, a former Kershaw County music teacher, is the instructor.  Classes are meeting once a week, with instruction provided during the school day.  Through funding provided by the Upton Foundation, DAP and ABC Grants, there is no cost to students for instruction (minus instrument rental).  According to Mr. Wheeler, there are currently 172 students enrolled in the “Strings for All” program and 15 students enrolled in his “Strings in the Afternoon” group.  What a great program to have available for our students in Kershaw County!  I’ll be sure to keep you posted on how this group progresses throughout the year.

I would love to hear from anyone who has a child or students involved in our new “Strings for All” program that would like to share on my blog!

6 Responses

  1. Thanks, Mrs. Lawson, for your wonderful comments about the “Strings for All” program. We are very excited about the interest shown by students and parents our first few weeks. Our hope is that the program will grow into a K-12 initiative and become a permanent part of the district’s arts offerings.

  2. Angie this is a wonderful program. You remember how timid my son, Marcus was when you taught him at PTH. He volunteered for Strings for All. He is very excited about having music lessons at school. He looks forward to class every week.

  3. Mrs. Shaylor,
    I know how much hard work it took to get the strings program in place in our elementary schools. I am so excited to see the amount of interest that the class has created. Hopefully, it will spark interest in other areas of the arts too! I hope to pull the “Strings for All” group into our PTH Christmas Concert. We did this last year with the “Strings in the Afternoon” group and had a wonderful presentation!

  4. Marsha,
    How exciting that Marcus is interested in strings! He always loved it when we played any instruments in music, even rhythm sticks! Please let me know when he has a performance. I would love to come and maybe even bring some of your old PTH friends! Thanks for posting…keep me updated on his progress!

  5. Linda, my daughter Margaret is participating in the Strings for All program at Camden Elementary. She really is enjoying the program. I think what has captivated her the most is how quickly she has caught on to playing the violin. Margaret comes home every week with a new story about how much better they are sounding. I guess we will find out December 9th how true that is.
    Thank you for your hard work in putting this program into place. It is greatly appreciated by the students and their parents.
    Jody Lackey

  6. Mrs. Lawson,
    Thanks for bringing positive attention to the Strings program. I am thrilled as a teacher to finally have Mr. Wheeler at my school, Wateree Elementary. I am so proud as a parent even more than you can imagine! My daughter, Kaitlyn, has begged to play the violin. However, I have been unable to get her to practices. Now, with Mr. Wheeler at our school, she is able to take lessons and LOVES it. I am thrilled to have her with him.

Leave a comment