"State Teacher Forum"

As Kershaw County Teacher of the Year, I am invited to attend State Teacher Forum meetings.  I attended my first meeting this past week.  I had the opportunity to hear the new SC Teacher of the year Jenna Hallman speak.  She is very enthusiastic and excited about leading South Carolina’s teachers this year. Also at the meeting were Teachers’ of the Year from school districts surrounding Kershaw County–Lexington, Richland, York, Lancaster, and Chester, to name a few.  I really enjoyed getting to meet with teachers from neighboring districts and discussing current educational issues.

We also discussed Teacher Forums on the district level.  Imagine how pleased and surprised I was to find out that they were using Kershaw County’s Teacher Forum as an example of a model forum.  I don’t think we teachers here in Kershaw County realize that there are some neighboring districts that either don’t have forums or that have forums that don’t really provide a voice for their teachers.  I sat in that meeting realizing all of the work that the Teachers of the Year before me had put into creating a Teacher Forum for Kershaw County.  How fortunate to work in such a forward thinking district!

Leave a comment