Veterans' Day Program Preparation

My Second Graders are hard at work preparing for a Veterans’ Day Program that we will be presenting on Wednesday.  Our Second Grade team started this tradition several years ago as a way to integrate their Social Studies Standards of American symbols in with music and honoring our local Veterans.  Well, it has grown into quite the tradition at PTH.  Every year, we seem to present a bigger and better program.  We now even have several local Veterans groups that attend every year. I have watched the students improve in their singing and their speaking over the past several weeks.  It is also great to see a grade level team and the Related Arts team working so closely together to create a wonderful experience for our students and our community.

We have about 100 second grade students that will be participating in the program, with around fifty speaking parts.   Now, if I can just get them all to sing without shouting, turn their patriotic lights on at the right time, and all step-clap in the right direction, I will breathe a sigh of relief!

Let me know if you have something special going on at your school or your child’s school to help celebrate Veterans’ Day.  I would love to hear what other groups around the district are doing to celebrate this special day!  I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a comment